Menu
Home Page

21st July 2017

21st July 2017

 

Dear Parents and Carers

 

I can’t believe another year has flown by! As always lots of amazing things have happened this year including a wealth of educational visits, sporting successes (our football teams have been unbeaten all season), winning the Y5 poetry slam, children’s performances and international week which culminated in a fantastic afternoon showcasing songs, sports and dances from around the world.

 

As always we have to say good bye to some staff - Alex Karn is off on an exciting adventure teaching in Vietnam. Claire Ward, Maria Moya, Celia Santos, Anna Taylor, Debbie Pugh, Katy Gorman, Amy Barnes and Charlotte Vickers are all off to new challenges. They will all be hugely missed and have made significant contributions to the school.

 

On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you all for your support this year. I hope you all have a great Summer and I look forward to seeing you in September.

 

Lucy Swift - Interim Headteacher

 

Highlights at SMR this week: It has been a fantastic final week at school – we would like to wish our Year 6 leavers lots of luck for starting secondary school. A number of children will also be leaving us over the summer and we wish you all the best for the future.

 

Message from the Chair of Governors:

 

Thank you!

 

On behalf of the whole school community, I would like to say a huge thank you to Lucy Swift for her courageous leadership of our school this year; we have made significant progress and are a very different school from the one that Ofsted saw back in October. We could not have done it without your determination and vision.

 

I would also like to thank Claire Ward for her calm, collected and committed support as out interim deputy; we were really lucky to find you, are very sorry to say goodbye and wish you all the very best for your future adventures.

 

And last, but definitely not least, an enormous thank you to all our amazing staff who, despite a very challenging year, have continued to provide our children with an inspiring education.

 

May I wish a very happy and restful holiday to all.

 

Julia Chapman – Chair of Governors

 

PTFA NEWS: Unfortunately, due to the weather, the end of term picnic will not go ahead today. (Although all the Year 6 children are still planning to meet to say goodbye).

 

The PTFA would like to thank everyone for their support this year. We raised £1913.51 at the Summer Fair and couldn't have done it without your help. Have a great summer!

 

Parent/Governor Elections: Thank you for voting in the Local Board election, we are pleased to welcome Rob Gillard and Margot Day as Parent Members.

 

Term Dates:

 

Please note that there are 7 in-service days next year due to extras because of the academisation process.

 

INSET 1: Monday 4 September – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

TERM 1: Tuesday 5 September– Friday 20 October

INSET 2: Friday 6 October – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

INSET 3: Monday 16 October – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

INSET 4: Monday 30 October – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

TERM 2: Tuesday 31 October – Friday 15 December

INSET 5: Friday 24 November – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

INSET 6: Tuesday 2 January 2018 – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

TERM 3: Wednesday 3 January 2018 – Friday 9 February

TERM 4: Monday 19 February – Friday 23 March

TERM 5: Monday 9 April – Friday 25 May

TERM 6: Monday 4 June – Tuesday 24 July

INSET 7: Monday 6 July 2018 – SCHOOL CLOSED TO CHILDREN

 

Have a lovely holiday. We will see your children before 8.55am on Tuesday 5th September. Gates open at 8.45am.

 

Lucy Swift

Interim headteacher

Click CEOP - Internet Security
Top