St Mary Redcliffe Church of England Primary School

Rooted In Love

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

Google Search
Google Translate

Academy Council

The governing body at St Mary Redcliffe CE Primary School is called the Academy Council.  

The Academy Council reports directly to a Multi Academy Trust, which is called the Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust (DBAT). DBAT is a sub committee of the main sponsor of the school, the Diocese of Bristol Academy Company (DoBAC).



Diocese of Bristol Academy Company 



Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust



Other Academy Trusts

(none at present)

Academy Council:

St Mary Redcliffe CE Primary School

  •       Three Members appointed by the Diocese
  • Four Members appointed by the school including the Principal, two parent members and one staff member

Academy Councils of other Academies:

Christian Malford CE Primary School, Wiltshire

Easton CE Academy, Bristol

Fishponds CE Academy, Bristol

St Peters CE Academy, Chippenham

Tadpole Farm CE Academy, Swindon

Seagry CE Academy, Wiltshire

Somerfords’ Walter Powell CE Academy

Lydiard Millicent CE Primary Academy, Swindon

Ridgeway Farm CE Academy, Swindon

The Deanery, Swindon


The Academy Council work in partnership with the Heads of School ensuring every child has the opportunity to achieve their potential by delivering a good quality education.


The Academy Council are responsible for the strategic management of the school that include:

  • Working with the Heads of School to determine the overall direction of the school
  • Form a policy on the school's curriculum
  • Oversee the school's budget
  • Appoint and monitor staffing and performance
  • Monitor the performance of the school, including target setting and standards
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Advising, setting and monitoring the school policies and procedures



Academy Council Structure 


The Academy Council (AC) consists of all board members and meets once every term, or 6 times a year. Members also visit the school regularly to meet with the staff and monitor the learning environment. The members have individual roles and responsibilities including statutory areas such as health and safety and safeguarding, and subject areas such as English, Maths and Science.


The Academy Council currently organises itself into two committees and two working parties with focus areas. 


  • Christian Distinctiveness Committee
  • Estates and Facilities Committee
  • Teaching and Learning working party
  • Finance working party


Our Academy Council members


Sam Mongon (Chair) - Community Member

Margot Day - (Vice Chair) - Community Member

Kat Campion-Spall - Substitute Ex Officio/ Foundation Member

Kevin Fry - Head of School

Meg Stacey - Head of School

Alison Hicks - Community Member

Hannah Malone - Community Member

Anthony Couzens   - Parent Member

Vickie Price - Staff Member

Jez Piper - Trustee

Nicki Antwis - DBAT Member- no voting rights

Peter Overton - Lead for Bristol Education and Learning Hubs - no voting rights

Louisa Aldred -  Interim Clerk


Chair of Academy Council - Sam Mongon

To contact, please email